WHS Daily Bulletin


Friday, March 14:


Lunch: Loose tacos or Fish taco, sweet Mexican beans, tortilla chips, shredded lettuce & diced tomato, diced mango, pint of milk


IHSA State 3 Point Contest Good Luck Ben Kovacevich! He will shoot at approximately 7:45 pm.


Youth & Government: State Assembly


Saturday, March 15:


Youth & Government: State Assembly


8:15 AM Girls Track & Field @ Charleston High School (Charleston Invite @ EIU) Bus leaves 5:15 AM


9:00 AM - Scholastic Bowl Sectionals at PORTA Bus leaves 8:00 am


New Berlin Art Fair March 15-18 at the Sangamon County Fair Grounds Exhibition Hours: Saturday, March 15, 10am-2pm;Sunday, 12pm - 4pm and Monday, 9am-2pm


General Announcements:


University of Spa & Cosmetology Arts and the University of Spa & Massage Therapy invites the public to attend an open house Saturday, May 3, from 10:00am to 1:00pm at 2913 West White Oaks Drive in Springfield, Illinois.

Campus tours, financial aid guidance, program information, refreshments and much more will be available during the open house. The event is free and open to the public.


All Academy Night: Hosted by the Office of Congressman Aaron Schock and representatives from all five US Service Academies. Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 7:00pm at the Springfield Air National Guard. Those interested in attending must RSVP no later than April 15 to renard.jackson@ang.af.mil


Orlene Drobisch Moore scholarship applications are available in the guidance office. Deadline to apply is April 25, 2014. This is a local scholarship open only to WHS graduates.


Capital City LaCrosse in Springfield is looking for more players - Flyers available in the office


Congratulations to Ben Kovacevich for advancing in the IHSA 3 point contest! He will compete Friday night in Peoria.


Congratulations to the students that competed in the IHSA Solo & Ensemble Contest. ALL 24 instrumental entries received I - superior ratings. This is the highest rating possible for this contest. Three students received "Best of Day" awards for having the most outstanding performance of the day in their performance venue. They are:

                     Tucker Hirsch, tenor saxophone solo

                     Lynzie Emerson, trumpet solo

                     Mary Walden, flute solo


Congratulations to the 33 new members who were inducted into the National Honor Society last night!



Brooks, Hunter

Krebs, Robert

Luckhart, Grant

Mayer, Kaitlyn

Meister, Kendal

Redpath, Seth



Beal, Johnathan

Bergfeld, Abigail

Blomberg, Ethan

Burton, Kaylee

Calvert, Caileen

Caspar, Lane

Cordum, Brenna

Emerson, Lynzie

Foster, Chloe

Frintz, Elizabeth

Galusha, Abbey

Hergert, Emily

Higginbotham, Quinn

Hirsch, Tucker

Leblond, Zachary

Lillard, Katy

McCarty, Tia

McGann, Mackenzie

Nichols, Kaylee

Pensabene, Sophia

Priester, Edward

Reed, Eric

Thompson, Andrea

Tiarks, Skyler

Tiarks, Summer

Weiss, Colton

Wells, Christina


Also congratulations to the new members of the National Honor Society Executive Committee who were elected last night:


         President - Catherine Buescher

         Vice President - Thomas Weiss

         Secretary - Kelsey Jones

         Members-at-Large - Abigail Clayton and Brianna Parada